What We Do

What We Do




Parish Councils form the first level of local government and they consist of local councillors who volunteer their time to serve their local community.

Cawood Parish Council comprises 9 councillors who can be elected (every 4 years) or co-opted. All are unpaid volunteers.

2019 was an election year. with the advent of the new Unitary Authority, Parish Council elections were brought forward a year to 2022.

Members share responsibility for all aspects of the council’s work.

We meet on the third Thursday of every month at the Old Boys’ School at 7:45 p.m. In 2024: Jan 25th; Feb 15th; March 21st; April 18th; May 16th; June 20th; July 18th; August 15th; Sept 19th; Oct 17th; Nov 21st; Dec 19th

Our agendas give further information.

Agendas are posted at least 3 days in advance of the meetings on the website and in our noticeboard outside the Pickled Postie. Members of the public are welcome to attend.


Our Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer is Susie Gowlett

Susie’s working (contact) hours are Tuesday 0900-1200 and Friday 0900-1300.

Martin Bates works tirelessly for the P.C. as Village Handyman, being employed for 20 hours per week. He is also contracted for grass cutting on a self employed basis.


We receive an annual precept from our share of council tax collected.

A large proportion of our budget is spent maintaining our beautiful village, including grass and hedge cutting and encouraging dog owners to behave responsibly by the provision of bio-degradable dog waste bags and numerous bins.

Responding to local planning applications is also within our remit.

Some land within Cawood is under the ownership of the Parish Council, on behalf of the village. The main sites are the Garth, Playing Fields and Cemetery. Other areas are the Cemetery access road; the area of riverbank parallel to the Foreshore up to Water Row;  Gill Green and the land at the roundabout on the junction of Broad Lane and Wistowgate.

Thanks to Nick Fox for first posting on Cawood Folk FB page



Cawood Parish Council